October Harvest & Pumpkin Muffins

October Harvest

October Harvest

Greetings! Here is a peek at what we harvested a couple of days ago. The fennel plants are still growing in the barrel but this one plant was bending over and I decided to slice it up really thin and add it to our big salad. Love the licorice flavor!

Living in a rural area comes with wonderful moments and occasional challenges too. Grandpa is out replacing a pressure tank on our well system. He worked with the experts yesterday and they replaced the pump, cleaned out pipe and more. We woke up this morning to no water :(.

Anyway, I am taking advantage of a water-less morning to bake some pumpkin muffins that I came across on the Putney Farm blog yesterday. I added 1/2 cup of toasted walnuts and 1/2 cup of golden raisins. They are baking away now and the aroma is perfectly fall-like. Tracee and I are going to experiment with making pumpkin pie from scratch later this month. She has created a pie from scratch recently but I have yet to experience the challenge. I am sure it will taste better than the organic canned pumpkin we purchased at Andy’s.

The Delicata Squash plant only produced these two pretty little squash. I found a recipe on-line at Summer Tomato where I learned you can eat the skin of these squash. I roasted them with a touch of olive oil and sea salt. They were delicious! Looks like I need to shred up more zucchini for the freezer and make another batch of Marinara :).

Grandpa is amazing! We now have water again…off to work I go.

About Garden Reflections

A Lover of Nature, Filled with Gratitude for my Husband, Family, Friends, Dog, Gardens and Chickens~
This entry was posted in Current Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to October Harvest & Pumpkin Muffins

  1. putneyfarm says:

    Awesome! Thanks for letting us know!

  2. They are fabulous! I ate one right out of the oven without any toppings ~ delicious!

  3. putneyfarm says:

    Thanks for the mention! Raisins are in the original recipe, along with a topping of sunflower seeds…so the flavors should be great…hope it worked out!

Leave a Reply

