Roses, Basil, The First Zucchini and Green Beans

I mentioned in my last post that we have enjoyed the green bean harvest already. We planted six bush beans and six pole beans to perform an experiment…which ones taste the best and are easiest to grow? The bush beans are already performing. I decided to harvest them each day and add them to the package in the freezer. They freeze really well and do not stick together. We can just pull out as many as we desire and steam them to perfection. I’ll let you know once the pole beans start producing.

We are drying excess herbs so they do not go to waste. The basil is absolutely in heaven…snipping back the flowers and trying to preserve every last leaf. Grandpa asked for an easy Pesto recipe. Let me know if you have one…I will be on the lookout.

The roses are thriving. I was concerned that the dampness of Northern CA would be an issue but you know what? They are happy as can be and rewarding us with their glory.

I enjoyed the first zucchini harvest (a very small specimen indeed) with sauteed bell peppers and a couple of gifts from the girls (eggs). Life is good.

About Garden Reflections

A Lover of Nature, Filled with Gratitude for my Husband, Family, Friends, Dog, Gardens and Chickens~
This entry was posted in Current Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

