Happy 4th of July – Harvesting Beets and Potatoes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy 4th of July! Hope you are enjoying the beautiful weather and will be enjoying the fireworks tonight! Grandpa and I worked in the gardens today. He did a lot of trimming and maintenance. It is absolutely gorgeous – 75 degrees with a nice, cool breeze. I plucked about a dozen and 1/2 green beans and added them to the little stash already collecting in the freezer. We ate the first of the bush beans a couple of nights ago. They were so tasty!

When I was working in the raised beds, I noticed a couple of little beets popping up out of the ground. I harvested them and shared the greens with the chickens. I know they are good for us to eat but they were so happy to receive a little treat!

A little later, Grandpa and I worked on the two barrels of potatoes – fingerling and baby reds. What fun and how rewarding it is to dig up your very own potato harvest!

I think I will plant another crop of broccoli and maybe some more kale in the now empty barrels. Right now I need to take out the apple pie I baked using a frozen bag of prepared Gravenstein apples saved from last year’s harvest and a homemade crust. The bounty continues and we are filled with gratitude 🙂

About Garden Reflections

A Lover of Nature, Filled with Gratitude for my Husband, Family, Friends, Dog, Gardens and Chickens~
This entry was posted in Current Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy 4th of July – Harvesting Beets and Potatoes

  1. Wish you were here to roast them with us!

  2. Tracee says:

    Awesome! Those beets look amazing and I can’t believe how many potatoes you got!!

Leave a Reply

