Oregano

A few weeks ago I trimmed back a rather vigorous oregano plant living in one of the raised beds. I placed the bunch in a paper bag and stored it in the garage. I had done this before with parsley years ago. This morning while making marina sauce, I remembered the dried oregano.

Dried Oregano

Dried Oregano

I pulled it out of the bag and was pleasantly greeted with the strong aroma. I pulled out enough for the marinara sauce and set the sauce to simmer. I then got busy pulling of the rest of the leaves from the stems. It was really fun – they just slipped right off.

The Leftover Stems

The Leftover Stems

Dried Oregano Pulled off the Stems

Dried Oregano Pulled off the Stems

The aroma was even greater. Who knew this could be so easy? I crushed it up with my hand. (Note to self: I need a mortar and pestle) and filled two 8-ounce mason jars.

Oregano in Raised Bed

Oregano in Raised Bed

Dried Oregano in Jars

Dried Oregano in Jars

About Garden Reflections

A Lover of Nature, Filled with Gratitude for my Husband, Family, Friends, Dog, Gardens and Chickens~
This entry was posted in Current Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

