Memorial Day Weekend 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Garden Progress: just a few photos of the new seedlings, broccoli, potatoes and some of the fruit hanging on our trees.

New adventures at Harchut Farms this weekend: dehydrating and sprouting! I took a sprouting class at Ceres Community Project last weekend and tasted some incredibly yummy sunflower sprouts. I am pretty comfortable with the basics and started soaking some alfalfa and broccoli seeds this afternoon. I will share more details and the photos once the sprouts are here.

I took a canning class last summer with my friend Barb and had a few very successful canning sessions (Bartlett Pears in Light Sauce, Marinara Sauce, Roasted Corn Salsa, tons of Gravenstein Applesauce, and a couple of different jams – our favorite being Fig and Strawberry Jam).

Also on my list of things I have been wanting to learn was dehydrating. I thought this would be another wonderful way to preserve the bountiful harvest. Yesterday, I soaked and then dehydrated sesame and hulled sunflower seeds. The dehydrator is a round, white four-tray machine. The humming was a bit annoying so I turned it off around 11:00 p.m. and the seeds seemed just fine. Today I am taking a turn at Kale Chips – more details and photos to come.

About Garden Reflections

A Lover of Nature, Filled with Gratitude for my Husband, Family, Friends, Dog, Gardens and Chickens~
This entry was posted in Current Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

