Upper Garden Day 2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Before work this morning, I planted all of the peppers and tomato transplants. It felt good to be out in the dirt and early-morning sun! Percy wanted so badly to join in the fun but I had him outside the gate. He just planted himself on top of some petunias and watched me while I worked.

You may already know this but I just learned last year while perusing some gardening sites on the web that tomatoes thrive best when planted a special way – deep planting. The lower leaves are snipped off and the entire plant is placed in a hole deep enough to cover the last snipped off area. This helps the transplant to sprout roots all along the stem and create a really sturdy base. Here is a quick video link that I found helpful:

http://www.vegetablegardener.com/item/6184/video-how-to-plant-tomatoes

This evening, I took some time to document the varieties of veggies planted or to be planted, adding a short description from the nursery tags as well as the plant and harvest dates. I have never tracked this specifically before, just harvested when things looked ready! We will see if this is helpful to me and/or you. It is the post under the “Planting Details” link. I think for future reference it might  be a good idea. Gardening is definitely a learning process and the memory is not always so keen!

About Garden Reflections

A Lover of Nature, Filled with Gratitude for my Husband, Family, Friends, Dog, Gardens and Chickens~
This entry was posted in Current Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

