Preparing for First Plantings in Upper Garden

Today was a good, full day. I weeded the upper garden, under the apple tree and around the front entry sidewalk. I then treated myself to a visit to Harmony Farms Nursery. It was later in the afternoon but still packed with excited patrons choosing the perfect plants.

I planted Russet Burbank Potato Seeds in one of the five barrels on the right side of the orchard, another six-pack of broccoli and six strawberry plants. I also planted three six-packs of petunias around the perimeter of the upper garden along the fence that Grandpa put up to keep little Percy out. This is where the tomatoes, hot peppers and bell peppers are going to be placed. I bought them today but am waiting to integrate the mulch Grandpa picked up from Grab n’ Grow. I picked up a couple of replacement plants for plantings in pots that succumbed to the frost. A Potato Vine and a Rose bush. There are Bean, Cinderella Pumpkin and Watermelon transplants waiting to be placed as well.

Percy hung out with me all day. He is really attached to us already. Only six months old and a part of our family. He was a little crazy when I let the girls out to search for worms.Grandpa is right, he will learn his lesson soon enough! Dolores is especially protective and is not afraid to push back when he gets a little too close!

About Garden Reflections

A Lover of Nature, Filled with Gratitude for my Husband, Family, Friends, Dog, Gardens and Chickens~
This entry was posted in Current Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

